Zode’s Top Tips For Transitioners

Hi everyone my name is Zode. I’ve been natural for about 4 years. I have 4b/4c hair. I don’t know when exactly because when I started transitioning I didn’t know that was what I was doing. I stopped adding relaxers to my hair sometime in 2012 because my mum thought(which was actually true) that my hair wasn’t growing properly-the rate at which it was breaking was more than the rate at which it was growing. This was because my school had a rule then that I had to make a new hairstyle every week. The hairdresser I was using didn’t treat my hair well also, so my hair was becoming really short. My mum then decided that I wouldn’t use relaxers anymore (I wasn’t happy about it..at all)

image

my relaxed hair

I knew absolutely nothing about taking care of my hair so I started watching YouTube videos to learn. There was this YouTuber who talked about how she prayed for her hair, and spoke on this Bible verse 1st Corinthians 11:15 about how a woman’s hair is her glory. I prayed about my hair too and God did answer! At this stage even though most of my relaxed hair had cut off, I never did a big chop or even trimmed off the relaxed ends. I just left the relaxed ends to break off.
From then on I started to care for my hair and I’ve learnt so much about my hair, and so I have some tips for transitioners πŸ™‚

image

1.Relax
Don’t go crazy about hair growth or length checks. Your hair will grow if you treat it right. But if you are constantly checking on it, it’s going to feel like it’s taking forever to grow.

image

2.MOISTURIZE!
This is so important and your number one moisturizer is none other than good old Water….yes H2O. It’s so good for your hair and best of all its easily available and cheap.Think of your hair as a plantΒ (we all know what happens to plants that aren’t watered) so ensure its an EVERYDAY thing.There are also some oils that help keep your hair moisturized. Notice that I used the word “keep”. Most oils don’t actually moisturize your hair but they help lock in the moisture. There are also some hair products like leave in conditioners(with water among the first five ingredients) that do moisturize your hair

3.Do not become a product junkie *in zombie voice*
Too many chemicals in hair products are bad for your and your scalp, and they could really hinder your hair growth. In all these four years of me growing my hair I can count how many products I’ve used, and I just tried most of them because my mum bought it or something.

image

4.PROTECTIVE STYLE!
This is so so important because every time you style your hair you are going to lose some strands. So what’s a protective style? This is simple any hair style that protects your hair from harsh conditions.

image

5.Learn about your hair
Everyone has different hair types .There’s difference in the hair pattern, hair porosity, hair thickness(God made us so unique!). There are a lot of things you need to learn about your hair-what works for others may not work for you, and just because you have the same hair pattern as someoneΒ  doesn’t mean you’ll have the same hair porosity. So just because a product or method of caring for hair worked well for a person doesn’t mean it’ll work the same way for you.

6.Love your hair
You have to reallyΒ  love your hair(not to death obviously!) Love the kinks, the curls….love it frizzy or stretched.

image

7.DEEP CONDITION!
This helped my hair so much which is why its the last tip. When I started this then I really started to notice growth, my hair became softer and my curls became more defined. I don’t mean using a conditioner with many chemicals. All the ingredients I use in my DC are natural. My favourite deep conditioner is mix of coconut oil,honey, extra virgin olive oil, one overripe avocado(the ones that look really green and are soft), one overripe banana and an egg.

image

And also ensure to sleep every night with a satin scarf…I hope this is helpful.😁

Yes I agree with all Zode’s tips. All of them are useful for all naturalistas. You can follow Zode on Instagram: crazie_christian

Hope you guys enjoyed this post as much as I did. Leave your thoughts in the comment box below.

If you would like to be featured, send me a mail at nimiaworinde@gmail.com
Don’t forget to subscribe!

8 thoughts on “Zode’s Top Tips For Transitioners

  1. jummyk says:

    yea I agree with Zode especially the deep conditioning part,it has really made my hair lovely.And knowing your hair type too is crucial like she said,avocado mix does not really work for my hair bt coconut milk does wonders.Tnx for d tips Zode

    Like

  2. Pingback: Natural Nimi
  3. Nenny says:

    Nice one dear. My hair is still in a transition process .though didn’t know It was wat I was doing cus I just decided not to relax my hair again since d beginning of this year cus it was like my hair wasn’t growing again even wen relaxed. Don’t really know much abt what to use ad my hair isn’t that long even wen relaxed,So me kinda bothered if it would really grow wen it becomes fully natural. About d ingredients u use fr deep conditioning, do u mke large quantity, keep ad use it gradually r u mke it each time u wanna use it. Thanks

    Like

Leave a Reply

