#AskNimi: How Do I Get Softer Natural Hair?

image

Hi lovelies,
I am introducing a new segment called #AskNimi where I answer common questions relating to your natural hair. You can send me questions via email to nimiaworinde@gmail.com, send a message to my Facebook page, or DM me on Twitter or Instagram. I’m not an expert yet ooo, butΒ  I’ll give my best :). Last week I got this question:

Question:
Hi,
I have some questions about going natural. My hair is really stubborn even with relaxer. I’m thinking of going natural. Is there something I can use to soften my hair while transitioning? I tried to transition for like two months, and at the second month I found it hard combing.

Answer:
Okay dear, I totally understand your issue. My hair was just like yours when I first went natural.
This is what I recommend:
1. Deep conditioning: it works like magic. It makes the hair instantly soft. If your hair is really hard you can deep condition weekly. Check out the mayonnaise deep conditioner I use.
2. Develop a moisturising regimen: Deep conditioning is great but it’s not enough. You need to moisturize daily(water is the best moisturiser) I would recommend twice daily. All you need to do is spray your hair with water and then use an oil or cream to seal in the water. Water also makes the hair very soft.
3. Find a leave in conditioner that works for you: you don’t need to buy something expensive. Ordinary Shea butter(ori) can work fine( if your hair likes it). However, only use it on moisturised hair.
4. Sleep with a silk/satin scarf: When you moisturise at night, just sleep with the scarf. It helps to keep the moisture in. It also prevents breakage because the material is softer compared to cotton.
I hope I was able to help.

Any other suggestions? Please leave them in the comment box. Remember I’m not an expert… yet, just a girl with some experiences.

XOXO…
Nimi ❀

4 thoughts on “#AskNimi: How Do I Get Softer Natural Hair?

Leave a Reply

