Hair loss is a universal problem women and even men face. For those trying to grow long hair, those annoying little hairs on the bathroom floor can be very frustrating. Hair loss is mostly by either shedding or breakage.
See: Your Hair isn’t Growing?: What you can do about it

Hair shedding is quite normal in most cases. Hair shedding is a normal, healthy continuous process whereby strands of hair are shed from the roots regularly. Shedding can be easily identified by the presence of a white bulb(which is the hair root) at the top of the hair strand. It is said that we lose about 100-150 strands of hair each day.

image

notice the presence of the white bulb

Hair breakage, on the other hand, may be indicative of a problem. Unpermed hair breaks when being manipulated e.g by combing, and this is totally normal. It becomes a problem when this breakage becomes excessive. Breakage occurs when hairs “break off” from anywhere else along the hair strands apart from the roots.

image
nimi's hair breakage

The following are possible causes of hair breakage:

1. Your hair is dry
Dry hair breaks! The importance of moisturising cannot be overemphasised regardless of your hair type (unpermed or permed). Moisturise with water or a water based leave in conditioner and then seal in the moisture with a cream based leave in conditioner or oil or butter.

2. Your hair is overexposured to heat
Although hair is made up of dead cells, it still requires tender care. If you expose your hair to heat from appliances such as flat irons, curling wands, blow dryers too often, you could damage your hair and increase the breakage. You should try to minimise the heat applications. However, if you apply heat to your hair frequently, you should deep condition more regularly (about once a week).

3. You’re holding on to split ends
If you’re trying to grow your hair long, I’m sure this is not what you want to hear, but you need to trim those split ends. Otherwise, your hair will just keep on breaking because those split ends will just keep on travelling up the hair strands, making your hair thinner and more likely to break. and your dream of long beautiful hair will be cut short.

4. You’re not deep conditioning
Deep conditioning is very very very essential for those who want healthy natural hair. Deep conditioning strengthens the hair, restores moisture and shine, prevents and stops breakage. Whenever I fail to deep condition my hair fortnightly, I experience crazy breakage.

5. You’ve kept a protective style in for too long
Long term protective styling isn’t for everyone. If you belong to this category, and you keep protective styles in for a long time, especially without keeping your hair moisturised, your hair will eventually break when you are taking out the style. To avoid this, moisturise your hair while in a P.S and try not to keep your hair in the P.S for too long.
Watch the video below to see how I moisturise my hair in a P.S
https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=vQdPGRISBMs
See: How I care for my natural hair in a protective style

6. Your diet is low in protein: Protein is essential for the formation of keratin, which is the “main ingredient” of hair. The formation of keratin from consumed protein is responsible for hair growth and strength. Thus, a diet low in protein is a reason for hair breakage.

7. Your hair is due for a perm
If your relaxed hair is due for a perm, it will most likely break. However, if you are transitioning to natural hair, make sure you deep condition weekly and ensure that your hair is always moisturised to reduce the breakage.

Thanks for reading. Have questions? Comment below or send an email to nimiaworinde@gmail.com
Be a good friend and share this, you could help someone. 🙂

Published by Natural Nimi

I am a medical student residing in Lagos, Nigeria. I have worn my hair natural(unpermed) since 2013, and here I share my experiences. I'm not perfect, but I believe that natural is a journey on which we are constantly learning. 

Join the Conversation

15 Comments

  1. Thank you for this! Deep conditioning is essential for sure. I’ve been trying to figure out why my hair is breaking but its deffo cuz its dry. I’ve been doing the CG method and run out and started using shampoo. Now the breakage is intense.

    Great post, Thanks!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi, Nimi,

    I found your blog via Abraham Ologundudu’s (Seasonedlifejournal) blog.

    I’ll be damned but I never knew there were lots of interesting blogs in Nigeria.

    Yours is truly a unique niche; not one I’ve ever seen around. And you do have a beautiful name, too.

    Wouldn’t it be great have your blog on a self-hosted site, because I see here thatyou have a great blog going here, and it would be sad for Linda Ikeji’s fate to repeat itself in your case.

    Just my two cents, because I strongly love and believe in your dream.

    Hope to connect with you real soon.

    – Yusuff Busayo

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Thank you I stopped perming my hair last yr Feb. All of a sudden I noticed my hair that was shoulder long suddenly is shorter than my little finger. Your blog is where I have found very useful and practical info on how to go natural. Straight to the point, easy to read and highly educative. Great content. It is as juicy as sweet oranges. Thank you. The information you offer is well presented and highly relevant. Thank you

    Like

  4. hello..I like these articles. But I’m new with all this. I’m still undergoing transition but I don’t know my hair type. And I’m still confused about deep conditioning.
    I need huge help. it’s because I didn’t know how to take care of virgin hair that’s why I relaxed it.
    I was growing natural hair since 2010 but I never gave my hair attention and love so I hated it and relaxed it last year. now that I’ve learn a lot, I’m ready for the journey.

    But how can I know my hair?

    Like

Leave a comment