image

Wearing my silk scarf to bed every night is one of my resolutions for the year that I shared with you. Today, I’m sharing with you why it is important to do so.

Read my New Year Hair Resolutions for 2017

Silk or satin scarves(or bonnets or pillowcases) are very soft and so they cushion your hair against the harsh effects of the fibres from our pillowcases and bedsheets.

Most ladies sleep with hair nets, however, hair nets are not the best if you are interested in growing long, healthy hair.

Your Hair isn’t Growing? Here’s what you can do about it

Hair nets aren’t much better than sleeping with nothing covering your hair at all. Nets have holes in them which means that your hair is still left exposed.

image
Hair net

So why exactly should you sleep with a silk scarf?

1. To prevent breakage

If you use a cotton pillowcase or bedsheet, your hair may rub against the cotton material creating friction. That friction can cause weak hair strands to break off. Five strands off today, ten strands off tomorrow and slowly you may stop noticing much growth( Remember little drops make an ocean). And as you know, hair breakage is one major thing that hinders hair growth.

7 Reasons Why Your Hair is Breaking and the Solutions

However, silk/satin scarves have very soft material which reduces the effect of friction on the hair.

2. To prevent split ends

When your hair rubs against the cotton material and breaks off, the strand may become damaged and split. The damage can travel up the hair strand and cause the hair strand to continue breaking and become thin. The worst part is that there is no cure or remedy for split ends, the damaged part of the hair just has to be cut off. 😦

In essence, split ends are veeeeeery bad for you, so avoid them by sleeping with a silk/satin scarf :).

3. To prevent dry hair

Silk scarves help in moisture retention. Cotton material is more absorbent than silk/satin, so cotton dries out the hair quite faster than silk/satin, and dry hair is one of the reasons for hair breakage.

5 Reasons Your Natural Hair is Dry

Silk/satin scarves don’t retain moisture directly, but they prevent moisture from being lost so quickly.

4. To protect your edges

Growing out my edges was also one of my resolutions for the new year. Sleeping with a silk/satin scarf is sooooo important especially if you sleep on your chest or side. The friction could cause your edges to break off gradually. If you sleep on your back, you may notice that the back of your hair is thin and scanty, the same principle applies. Sleeping with a silk/satin scarf will definitely prevent this (tested and trusted ;).

However, if you use a bonnet, you need to ensure that it doesn’t rest directly on your edges, move the bonnet a bit forward onto your forehead to reduce the friction with your hairline.

image

With these few points of mine, I hope I have been able to convince you that silk scarves are the solution to most life hair problems :D.

P.S: If you’re interested in getting a bonnet like mine or a silk scarf, just send an email to nimiaworinde@gmail.com😊

EXTRA TIP: Wear your silk scarf or bonnet before tying your cotton or wool scarf. The cotton or wool scarves are made of harsh material and can also rub against your hair…. And that’s veeeery bad 😦

Hi loves,
It’s been quite a while, right? I’m so sorry for running away 🙊. Anyway, I’m back now :). Keep sending your hair questions to nimiaworinde@gmail.com and don’t forget to like my facebook page and follow me on instagram

XOXO…
Nimi ❤

Published by Natural Nimi

I am a medical student residing in Lagos, Nigeria. I have worn my hair natural(unpermed) since 2013, and here I share my experiences. I'm not perfect, but I believe that natural is a journey on which we are constantly learning. 

Join the Conversation

4 Comments

  1. Sleeping on silk or satin is better for your hair than cotton since your hair will glide across the smooth surface versus the rough cotton fibers that either trap or break hair. For those who get hot or experience night sweats, silk will be the better option as it naturally regulates temperature. I could never wear a bonnet for the reason you mention here concerning slipping and movement at the hairline. There are some bonnets made that are supposed to be easier than the elastic but I still find them bothersome. Depending on the hairstyle, if it is up, I will use a silk scarf at night but I always have my pillowcase covered in silk. That way I am covered no matter what. If your only concern is moisture retention then satin is just fine but if you are also concerning about skin care, night sweats, or would like an all natural alternative, silk is the way to go.

    Like

Leave a comment