#AskNimi: My Hair is Dry and it Shrinks!

image

Question:

Hi Nimi, I’m a naturalista. I need your advice. My hair is too dry and hard,even after moisturising it looks dry. Also,it shrinks a lot especially after washing. Thanks.

My Answer:


Hello, 

Thank you so much for reaching out. I believe you have read this post: 5 Reasons Why Your Natural Hair is Dry

First, I would like to know how you moisturize and what products you use. It could be that your hair just doesn’t work well with those products. You probably also need a leave in conditioner and strong sealant if your hair is really dry. My Hair always feels dry without her leave in. It is also important to moisturize regularly.

You may also need to deep condition more regularly. Conditioning overnight(the baggy method) usually works best for my friends with really dry hair. To do the baggy method, just spray your hair with water to make it a bit wet, then apply your conditioner or thick sealant to it and cover with a plastic shower cap, and leave overnight. You can do the baggy method with a deep conditioner, regular conditioner or a leave in.

Check out my post on deep conditioning :Best DIY Deep Conditioner for Natural Hair

If you’ve tried all this, especially the baggy method and your hair still feels dry, please let me know.

As for the shrinkage, it is perfectly normal. To reduce shrinkage when you wash, you can wash your hair in sections. Sometimes I wash my hair in small two strand twists. This will help you minimize shrinkage. You can always stretch your hair after washing to restore it to it’s regular length. Check out how I stretch my hair using the banding method here:Best Heatless Method For Stretching Natural Hair

I hope I was able to help. Please keep me posted!

Any comments? Please leave them in the comment box below.

You can always send me questions via email to nimiaworinde@gmail.com, send a message to my Facebook page, or DM me on Twitter or Instagram

I’m not an expert yet ooo, but I’ll always give my best :).

Published by Natural Nimi

I am a medical student residing in Lagos, Nigeria. I have worn my hair natural(unpermed) since 2013, and here I share my experiences. I'm not perfect, but I believe that natural is a journey on which we are constantly learning. 

Join the Conversation

3 Comments

  1. hI Nimi! Im also a Naturalista.I’ve been natural for 2years and just recently taken up blogging to share my experience and share the love of natural hair 🙂 my site is http://www.nappyese.com pls check me out
    I am planning to go on a project bring back my edges because ive had minor breakages from braids in my relaxed days, and I dont think its fully recovered. What your tips for growing back edges?

    Like

  2. hI Nimi! Im also a Naturalista.I’ve been natural for 2years and just recently taken up blogging to share my experience and share the love of natural hair 🙂 my site is http://www.nappyese.com

    I am planning to go on a project bring back my edges because ive had minor breakages from braids in my relaxed days, and I dont think its fully recovered. What your tips for growing back edges?

    Like

  3. Hi Ese, it’s nice to meet you. Your site is lovely. For your edges I would recommend the following :
    1) Massage your edges: Massage your scalp with castor oil, especially Jamaican black castor oil is known for it’s ability to increase thickness and restore edges. This worked perfectly for my mum’s edges. However if you don’t get castor oil, any other hair friendly oil will do(e.g coconut, olive oil).
    I would recommend steaming your edges with the oil overnight (baggy method), just ensure that the edges of the shower cap don’t rub against your edges.

    2) Sleeping with a satin or silk scarf: This will reduce friction between your hair and the cotton sheets.
    You can check out this post: https://naturalnimi.wordpress.com/2016/02/28/7-reasons-why-your-hair-is-breaking-and-the-solutions/
    Reducing breakage here and there will go a long way.

    That’s all I can think of right now. Hope I was able to help

    Like

Leave a comment