image

Hello darlings😘,

How are you? How was last week? This week’s gist is all about moisture retention. Dry hair is hair that is lacking in moisture. A lot of naturalistas who moisturize their hair regularly still have dry hair a little while after moisturizing. This can be a great problem, and can even make some naturalistas consider using the creamy crack, because nobody likes to deal with dry hair.

However, I’m here to help. These are a few reasons why you may be experiencing dry hair even though you moisturize regularly :

1. You’re not listening to your hair.

This is one of the major reasons people find it hard to retain moisture in their hair.  It is important to know what your hair needs, and how your hair responds to products, treatments and even the weather. Some products make it difficult for certain hair types to retain moisture. It is important to to test hair products on a section of your hair first to see how well it works there, before you use it on the rest of your hair. 

Your hair may require more or less moisture during certain weather conditions. For example, during dry weather your hair would require more moisture. And on a humid day, it would probably not require so much moisture.
It is important to know your hair, and what works for it in order to get the best out of your moisturizing routine.

2. You’re looking for a miracle moisturizing product

You may be spending a lot of time and money searching for one magic product that will end your dry hair struggles and hair tears (I call breakage hair tears).

Check out 4 Quick and Easy DIY Leave In Conditioners for Natural hair
However, the best thing you could ever give to your hair is all around you. It is the beautiful, delicious, cheap, ever available WATER!!! Other products only complement water, they should never take it’s place in your moisturizing routine if you want to retain more moisture.

Remember, water is the real moisturizer.

3. You don’t seal your strands after moisturizing

Just as it is important to moisturize your hair with water, it is equally important to seal the moisture to prevent it from escaping. This can be done with an oil, a cream, or both of them.
Sealing after moisturizing helps to keep the gained moisture locked in the hair strands.
My favourite sealant is my Cantu Argan Oil Repair Leave In Conditioner. It works so well, and it smells heavenly.

4. You don’t deep condition regularly.
The benefits of deep conditioning are innumerable. Check out my favourite DIY deep conditioner here: Best DIY Deep Conditioner for Natural Hair
Deep conditioning prevents and stops breakage. It also makes the hair shinier and softer.  You can’t afford to not deep condition. 

5. You use too much heat on your hair.
The regular use of heat appliances on your hair can result in dry hair.  Heat appliances such as blow dryers and flat irons remove moisture from your hair strands, which is not what you need if your goal is to retain moisture. Please try to minimize your use of heat tools, and if you must, make sure you use a heat protectant.

MOISTURE TIP: I found out that my twisted hair retains moisture better. You can try it too. It might just work for you.

Thank you for reading darlings. I hope I was able to help. I love reading your comments more than anything, so please let me know what you think in the comments section.
Till next week… Take kiss😘😘

N.B: If you’re not subscribed to this blog, you’re still sleeping on a bicycle. You can also like my Facebook page to get updates on your news feed. And please click here to subscribe to my YouTube channel .
And as always, I would love to receive your hair questions, send them to nimiaworinde@gmail.com😘

XOXO…
Nimi

Published by Natural Nimi

I am a medical student residing in Lagos, Nigeria. I have worn my hair natural(unpermed) since 2013, and here I share my experiences. I'm not perfect, but I believe that natural is a journey on which we are constantly learning. 

Join the Conversation

10 Comments

  1. Forrever proud of my blogger , dj nd cooker frnd…. your blog is one to love 💜💜.. will u tie my scarf for me tomorrow ?😢

    Like

Leave a comment